top of page
Search
  • Eliza S.

I Am Number Four Feels Like Number Zero

A review of I Am Number Four, from the viewpoint of a former fan.

By David F.


Have you ever had that feeling of satisfaction after finding a book that you happen to love to its core? I had that exact set of emotions in the eighth grade.

With Pittacus Lore's I Am Number Four, showcasing that having a cool pseudonym doesn't constitute a quality narrative. In essence, this book reminds me of myself in the eighth grade. Cringeworthy trash.


No lie, I used to have this religious devotion to I Am Number Four to the point where I did a book report project on it with the Oasis song "Wonderwall" playing in the background, because I was such a RAD 4TEEN-YEAR-OLD.


Sigh. So yeah. Why don't I like this book anymore, when it used to be one of my favorites? Well, it's the predictability of it all. This fifteen-year-old alien who is "different" because he has unexplainable powers moves to Ohio, goes to a new school, easily gets a girlfriend, easily gets a best friend who is a straight-up conspiracy nut, and meets his bully on the first day as well. Yippee skippy, a general amalgamation of all the typical things that DON'T ALL HAPPEN ON THE FIRST DAY.

The romance in this book makes me sick. I have nothing against romance, but here it's just so trite and saccharine that the book might as well print a disclaimer on the front that states how there is never such thing as a failed relationship in I-Am-Number-Four-Land, with the exception of bully Mark and Number Four's new girlfriend Sara. It's repulsive.


On a more positive note, the plot of Number Four trying to avoid this separate alien race that vows to kill him is interesting, as well as the aspect of the character utilizing his skills and abilities in general. It's also interesting how Four meets and interacts with other surviving members of his own alien race, and they team up to battle their enemies in future novels.


Yes, there are other books in the I Am Number Four lore, too. Conspiracy nerd friend Sam gets a girlfriend who's another alien. YEP. THAT'S RIGHT FOLKS. And there's another alien later on named Number Nine who happens to be so egotistical and arrogant that he became the first thing I strongly disliked about this series.

And Number Four decides to call himself John Smith. He could've used anything, and he goes with the most common name in the world. He could've called himself O'Finnegan Q. Gainsborough, but he goes with John Smith.


For shame. Or should I say, FOUR shame? Heh heh heh....


RATING: Definitely 2 out of 5 stars. That's 40%, so if the book starts applying itself more with the character relations it may bump itself up to a D.





20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

 and Reviews and 

Reviews written by the National English Honor Society  Parkersburg High School, Parkersburg, West Virginia

bottom of page