top of page
Search
  • Eliza S.

Is the movie actually better than the book?

Updated: Jan 13, 2019

An honest review of To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before.


To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before follows Laura Jean Covey as she pursues a fake relationship with popular jock Peter Kavinsky, but most of you probably know this from the hit Netflix adaptation of the book. I have watched this movie way too many times before I actually got around to reading it. This is the first time I have ever said this, but the movie was better!


The writing style of the novel is simplistic, and the lack of sentence variation distracted me from the plot at points. The story is full of the classic YA troupes as well. The one saving grace is the supportive relationship Laura Jean has with her family, which is something new in this genre.


This being all said, the book does have some merit, and I do wish the movie including more scenes from it. I am planning to read the next one, PS I Still Love You, just because I cannot leave a series unfinished. Hopefully the writing style improves.


📷


https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/thumb/0/0f/To_All_the_Boys_I%27ve_Loved_Before_cover.jpg/220px-To_All_the_Boys_I%27ve_Loved_Before_cover.jpg



14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

 and Reviews and 

Reviews written by the National English Honor Society  Parkersburg High School, Parkersburg, West Virginia

bottom of page